Recognising excellence

(From left): Peter Wothers, Simon Lancaster and Monika Papworth

(From left): Peter Wothers, Simon Lancaster and Monika Papworth

The RSC has announced the winners of its awards and prizes for 2013. The awards recognise excellence and achievements in all areas of chemistry from individuals, teams and organisations across the world. They are designed to recognise the outstanding work carried out by scientists in specialist areas spanning the breadth of the chemical sciences.   

The winners in education-related categories are: 

Nyholm Prize for Education

Peter Wothers (University of Cambridge), for his sustained commitment to chemistry teaching and outreach, as exemplified by his highly popular demonstration lectures and the 2012 Royal Institution Christmas Lectures. 

Higher Education Teaching Award

Simon Lancaster (University of East Anglia), for his innovative use of technology to engage, challenge and enthuse students by blurring the boundaries between the lecture theatre and the internet. 

Inspiration and Industry Award

Monika Papworth (MedImmune Ltd), for her creative ideas to build scientific understanding of chemistry and biology in schools and science festivals.

Most of the award winners will deliver lectures at a variety of locations throughout the UK during the next academic year. 

The nomination process for the next round of RSC Prizes and Awards opens on 1 September 2013.