He shared the 1987 Nobel Prize in Chemistry with Jean-Marie Lehn and Charles Pedersen for their work on host-guest chemistry, where two or more molecules or ions bond in unique ways due to their structure. This has allowed the synthesis of molecules that mimic the action of enzymes.

Related resources: